Worst case scenario, you are going to be charged with a crime that masquerades as a traffic ticket.

You may be asking, what kind of crime could you be charged with for just driving down the road?

Here are the possible criminal charges you could be facing:

  • Reckless Driving
  • Driving On Suspended License
  • Aggressive Driving

So what is the big deal with any of the above tickets? After all, they are just tickets, right?

Wrong. The above tickets are misdemeanors.

What is a misdemeanor ticket? A misdemeanor ticket may land you in jail and cause you to lose your license.

So you now have two options if you have received a misdemeanor ticket or speeding ticket.

You can go to court without a lawyer and hope for the best or you contact the Law Offices of SRIS P.C. lawyers for help.

We have a client meeting location in Virginia Beach. You can reach by phone at 703-278-0405 or contact us online.

Our attorneys defend Virginia uniform summons speeding tickets, reckless driving tickets, driving on suspended license and aggressive driving tickets in the following jurisdictions:

Chesapeake, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Isle of Wight, Norfolk, Hampton, Newport News, Northampton, Southampton & Accomack.

The following are some of the questions our clients ask us when they get a ticket in Virginia Beach:

  • Do I have to go to the Virginia Beach court if I got a traffic ticket in Virginia Beach?
  • If I get too many Virginia Beach traffic tickets, will it affect my driving record in Virginia?
  • How do I find a Virginia Beach traffic lawyer?
  • How much does it cost for me to get a lawyer to fight my Virginia Beach VA tickets?

The state of Virginia imposes several types of penalties when someone breaks the traffic rules. The state may impose a fine which ranges from $250 to $100,000. The fine depends on the type of misconduct. Another punishment is the suspension of the driver’s license. The court may suspend the license for life or a specific period. It also depends on the type of case. The judge decides the suspension. The third type of punishment is imprisonment. Breaking traffic rules such as DUI or reckless driving can also end up with punishment in jail. If you live in Virginia, then you should know the laws. You may be facing heavy charges and punishments for breaking the law. If it is your first time handling such a case, you should hire a responsible and a reliable traffic lawyer. Always hire the best Virginia Beach County, Lawyer. Hire a traffic attorney from us at the law group. We are experts at the traffic laws in Virginia. We will help you with your case and ensure that you do not pay the penalty. Our attorneys are capable of getting you out of the trouble you face. We also ensure that the court does not add any points to the demerit system.

Traffic violation records

Many people do not know that the state records their traffic violations. These violations remain for a very long time on their traffic profile. The state is very strict about second violations. You may get away with the first violation, but if you do the same within the stipulated period, the court will not let you go. For example, if the court charges you with reckless driving, the record remains on your profile for eleven years. If you drive recklessly again in these eleven years, the court will charge you with a second conviction penalty. The DMV records every traffic offense you make. So, you need to be very careful while driving.

You should know all the traffic laws. There are punishments for breaking each law. You should know about mechanical violations, reckless driving, and not following reading signs, etc. You should also know the penalties for not driving with a license.

Filing the case

Many people try hard but still get a ticket. If you get a ticket for a wrongful act on the road which may not be your mistake, you should take legal help. You should take help from an expert lawyer if it is a hit and run case. Someone may hit your car and run away. You should know what to do to get justice. Filing a case against that person is not an easy task. You will need the legal help from an expert Virginia Beach attorney. The attorneys at the law group will handle your case and ensure that you win. So there are many options for the people that how can they get and how can they fulfill their needs according to the law and rules so no else then this

The following are some of the traffic laws in VA:

VA Code § 46.2-870. Maximum speed limits generally.

Except as otherwise provided in this article, the maximum speed limit shall be 55 miles per hour on interstate highways or other limited access highways with divided roadways, nonlimited access highways having four or more lanes, and all state primary highways.

The maximum speed limit on all other highways shall be 55 miles per hour if the vehicle is a passenger motor vehicle, bus, pickup or panel truck, or a motorcycle, but 45 miles per hour on such highways if the vehicle is a truck, tractor truck, or combination of vehicles designed to transport property, or is a motor vehicle being used to tow a vehicle designed for self-propulsion, or a house trailer.

Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this section, the maximum speed limit shall be 70 miles per hour where indicated by lawfully placed signs, erected subsequent to a traffic engineering study and analysis of available and appropriate accident and law-enforcement data, on: (i) interstate highways, (ii) multilane, divided, limited access highways, and (iii) high-occupancy vehicle lanes if such lanes are physically separated from regular travel lanes. The maximum speed limit shall be 60 miles per hour where indicated by lawfully placed signs, erected subsequent to a traffic engineering study and analysis of available and appropriate accident and law-enforcement data, on U.S. Route 29, U.S. Route 58, U.S. Route 360, U.S. Route 460, and on U.S. Route 17 between the town of Port Royal and Saluda where they are nonlimited access, multilane, divided highways.

§ 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit.

A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.