VA reckless driving points
What are Reckless Driving Points?
DMV stands for Department of Motor Vehicles. Why is it mentioned here? Because DMV will be looking for the points, you will earn or lose. People in Virginia do not care about reckless driving points until they are charged with them and then regret it later. So, it is better for every citizen to keep the information about the laws and the outcome especially. What are reckless driving points and how does it work? To stop the drivers from committing the same mistake, again and again, the government have introduced the reckless driving points. It would not be wrong to say that it is similar to a report card of your driving where you will be earning points for your good performance and losing the grip if you perform badly. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles uses a point system for the traffic violations. If you are increasing the points on your list, do not feel proud or happy because the marking is negative here in the positive increase; that means if you are earning points by DMV, then you are on the verge of losing driving facilities, some of them or in worst cases, all of them.
How does the reckless driving point system work?
Every time you are convicted with a traffic violation and commit a crime regarding reckless driving, you will earn points under your name which will stay there for a minimum two years. Every time you will earn a point, it will be added to your driving record. In Virginia, the post-suspension depends upon:
- The number of points you receive within a given period.
- Your age.
- The nature of the offense.
If you are an adult driver, the suspension takes place based on the demerit points you have received in the probation time or the given time. If you are an adult and you receive 12 points in 12 months OR 18 points in 24 months; then be ready to welcome automatic suspension from the Department of Motor Vehicles and the code of Virginia. Can it be removed or reduced? Yes, for that you need to attend the driver improvement clinic within 90 days so you can avoid the suspension and save yourself from such loss.
The minimum amount of points would be 3 points given to the person who has committed any crime or violated any law. It is up to the infraction the driver has made that how many points he will be charged with. Usually, there are 3, 4 and 6 points given on violation of reckless driving laws. When does it take place or when the points are given?
3 points: Driving 1 to 9 MPH above the speed limit which is 80 mph in Virginia and the surroundings. Attempting an improper U-turn without indicating or giving any signal. Turning left on a red signal without any indication. Not obeying or following the highway or other traffic signs or signals.
4 points: Driving at a speed between 10 to 19 MPH over the speed limit which is 80mph. Blocking the route of Emergency vehicles. Other vehicles or pedestrians. Failure to maintain a safe driving distance from other vehicles or driving a vehicle aggressively on the road.
6 points: Driving 20 MPH or higher above the speed limit. Street racing (illegal in Virginia). Passing or attempting to pass a stopped school bus, prohibited in the state. Operating a vehicle with a suspended license (illegal). Not stopping after a collision with a person or any other vehicle.